First Post

I think that’s the obligatory title of the first post to any blog, right?

So I guess that I’m going to try and have another go at this blogging thing. My previous attempt was at http://bradbev.livejournal.com/ which didn’t last that long or get that much attention.  I think that my problem is that I am inherently against much of my personal information getting out onto the web, it just creeps me out.  So this particular blog will not even attempt to have personal information.  This is a tech blog where I can write whatever crap that I like.

Let’s get my personal info out of the way.  I was born in 1979, I’m from New Zealand.  I have a bachelors degree in computer science & I’ve been working since 2000.  Until 2007 I worked exclusively in the embedded systems industry.  In March 2007 I changed industries and I’m working for a games company now as a systems programmer.  I guess the theory goes that embedded systems and games have something in common.   That’s about all you’ll get out of me.

What am I going to talk about here?  Anything that strikes my fancy, which will probably be tech related.  I’m an ex-Vim user who switched to Emacs so I could use Slime with Lisp programming.  For those Vim fans out there, I still use Vim keybindings 🙂  Lisp is my current favourite language, and I use SBCL on OS X with Aquamacs + Slime.  C++ is the language that I use at work.  Ick is probably the word there.  Once you’ve grokked a language like Lisp (Smalltalk and other ‘whole environment’ systems are probably the same feel), then it is really hard to live in the C world of edit/compile/link/run.  Maybe I should rant about that at some stage.

Anyhow, let’s get on with the show.

3 Responses to “First Post”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    first comment

  2. bradbeveridge Says:

    LOL

  3. Brolin Empey Says:

    Come on, this is a tech (programming) blog! The first post should be titled “Hello World”. 😛

    You may be interested to know that the first opcode executed in the BIOS code when you boot a PC is 0xEA (unconditional far jump). 🙂 To see for your self, dump the memory at F000:FFF0, the entry point to the BIOS startup code on an x86 PC.

Leave a Reply

